You are currently not logged in.  Logon or register to access more features. Vision-Riders.com is a FREE service provided by Victory Riders Network.

Search:

New Vision Rider Checking In
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Discussion -> Victory General DiscussionMessage format

robinsonre
Posted 2010-04-10 2:50 PM (#57174)
Subject: New Vision Rider Checking In

Puddle Jumper

Reno, NV
Hi Everyone,

My name is Ryan, I live in Reno, NV and I thought I'd check in and share my story.

I guess my story starts in 2002, at the time I was a freshman college student in Reno and figured a bike would make an enjoyable and affordable daily commute so I took a few training courses and got my motorcycle license. I took to riding like a duck to water but unfortunately I was never able to save up enough money to buy myself a ride. Motorcycling kind of fell by the wayside, and I took up other interests, principally school and target shooting.

In 2008 my brother Kyle moved to Reno. Fortuitously, the same year I was gifted an old beater bike ('79 Yamaha XS450) by a friend. The bike didn't run well, but it gave my brother and I countless hours of enjoyment to work on and ride the bike.

In 2009 Kyle was diagnosed with an aggressive soft tissue sarcoma in his neck. It was a shock to all of us, at 22 years old and an avid runner he was the healthiest member of my family. Throughout Kyle's treatment he and I spoke often. His big dream was to buy a bike and go on a long touring trip with my father and I. I promised that when his chemotherapy ended we'd all buy bikes and take the trip he wanted, my father echoed this promise.