You are currently not logged in.  Logon or register to access more features. Vision-Riders.com is a FREE service provided by Victory Riders Network.

Search:

more on oil.. I know
Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
View previous thread :: View next thread
   Discussion -> Vision Tech Q&AMessage format

ksievers
Posted 2013-09-16 9:09 AM (#144540)
Subject: more on oil.. I know

Puddle Jumper

Norman, OK
I've read the oil posts too, here and elsewhere, and there has already been plenty said, but maybe this is useful as I am still new to my Victory Vision Tour...first impressions and all that:

rode about 1500 miles on the oil that was in there (Victory brand). I bought the bike used so could not be SURE how long the oil had been in there, and I was itchy to start tinkering with. So yesterday swapped out the oil.

Rotella T6. Forget-about-it. It is SMOOTHER. test ride on the hiway, on two laners, etc.. maybe it's just because it was fresh oil, but that engine is just like butter now. and shifting is fabulous. so there you go - KS.
Top of the page Bottom of the page
Boots
Posted 2013-09-16 9:42 AM (#144542 - in reply to #144540)
Subject: Re: more on oil.. I know

Tourer

New Mexico
Something to consider...

varyder - 2012-06-20 11:26 AM

Are we having fun yet? rdbudd, you make a fine point. I was using a full synthetic for most of my Vision life but have gone back to a semi-blend. The last full-syn oil I had in the bike was the Rotella T6 5w40. It seem to work very well up until around the 90,000 something mile mark and then I felt a faint clutch slippage. There may have been other mitigating circumstances, but I'm not wanting to put in a new clutch now. I decided to try a semi-blend 10w40 again and it seems to tighten things up and have changed it already once since using it. I'll use a semi-blend as recommended by Victory from here on out whether full synthetic is okay or not, but that is my preference.
okie vision